At What Point is it Plagiarism?

Hello,

So I’ve been using Glitch and Codepen now for about 6 months. I’m still very new to coding in HTML and CSS. I have been doing assignments for my classes at college, and made a point to myself not to copy and paste anything. Seeing all the amazing things people were doing with just mark-up languages was incredible.

I am wondering in the industry, what is acceptable to copy and where do you draw the line at it not really being your work anymore? Is it even ok to copy 1 line of code? I know that in music copyrights it needs to be a series of specific notes that form a unique string of notes before you can copyright it. Is this how code works?

Love this platform and have been learning at an exponential rate. Thanks in advance to everyone.

4 Likes

Good question! I think it really depends on what you do with the code once you copy it. If your code is a patchwork of copied code from around the internet, well, that probably isn’t such a great thing. But if you take copied code and used it in a project where it works with the rest of your code, or, even better, you change it and adapt it to your project, there is nothing wrong with that. In fact, some code is meant to be copied and downloaded, like libraries.

From a legal standpoint, the police aren’t going to come after you if you are a hobby developer and copy a lot of code. With that being said, the rule of thumb is to read the license (MIT, Apache, GNU GPL, etc) of the project and stick to those terms. If you aren’t sure, you can always contact the developer and ask for their input.

7 Likes