castError message

I am new to node.js, I haven’t been able to find an answer that fixes my problem. What I’m trying to do is create a path that will create a new child object, add it to the parent’s array of children, then return the child object to the requester.The problem that I am running into is that if I pass the string id into findById, node crashes.
CONSOLE ERROR:CastError: Cast to ObjectId failed for value “{ role: ‘manager’ }” (type Object) at path “_id” for model “user”
CODE SNIPPET: `app.route("/select").get( async (req, res, next) => {
const {manager} = req.body;
try {

const findMangers = await User.findById({role: "manager"})
    if (findMangers) {
        return res.json(findMangers);
    } else if (findMangers.length === 0) {
        return res.json('0 managers')
    } else {
        return res.json("Oops! an error occurr")
    }
} catch (e) {
    return next(e);
}

});
USERMODEL:const mongoose = require(“mongoose”);

const Schema = mongoose.Schema;

const userSchema = new Schema({
username:{
type: String
},
manager: {
type: Schema.Types.ObjectId,
ref: “user”
},
email:{
type: String,
required: true
},
password:{
required: true
},
role:{
enum: [“manager”, “staff”],
default: “staff”
},
deleted: {
type: Boolean,
default: false
},
whenCreated:{
type: Date,
default: Date.now()
}
});

const modelUserSchema = mongoose.model(“user”, userSchema, “Users”);

module.exports = modelUserSchema;`

Bsically a user should select manager from the listMager who have register . in other to send them message
PLEASE HELP

Looking at the mongoose findById docs, it seems that findById is used to find a document by it’s _id property - here it looks like you should be using find (I’m not sure what you’re trying to do so it might be better for you to use findOne) as you’re searching by the role property.