Did Glitch run out of names?

I’ve been using Glitch since 2017 and I noticed today that new project names look like ivory-talon-bghlfg1wgk rather than ivory-talon. Is this the default?

1 Like

I believe they have been doing this recently, yes.

OMG I had the same question. LOL I mean it is using an adjective, noun system. This is probably its way of keeping pace and not shutting down on itself for making the same name twice.

1 Like

Yeah, that makes sense.

If anyone’s interested, I made a CloudFlare Worker which uses the same generator as old Glitch. https://friendly-words.nathfreder.workers.dev. Refresh for a new name.

3 Likes

Noice. I wonder if glitch ever recycles projects.

What do you mean by recycling projects?

Deletes like 2-3 year old inactive projects.

I don’t think so. Some of my first projects are still active.

Hey all!

Yes, it’s time for us to refill our name generator with more friendly words! Our team is aware and will address this in the future.

It doesn’t happen often, but project names can be recycled if the project that was originally using the name has been deleted for a while.

2 Likes

Is the friendly-words package by FogCreek Software (or Glitch) open-source and can I fork it on GitHub?

Yes, it’s available at https://github.com/glitchdotcom/friendly-words

1 Like

The project names take the form of predicate-object. Why not add an extra object so that it becomes predicate-object-object instead of adding random letters and digits?

1 Like

This system they are using now is probably just as failsafe.

Maybe add a system that adds nice adjectives. Imagine if someone used this as their theasarus for writing.

Wow! I took a look at the github page and found all of their words.
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/glitchdotcom/friendly-words/master/generated/words.json

1 Like

Update: the longer project names are now live! Enjoy easier to type projects :slight_smile: