How to make a bot send dms after some time?

hello! I just started coding like two days ago and I want to make a discord bot that is able to send anonymous dms, I already have the code to send the messages instantly thanks to a youtube tutorial but I was wondering if you could somehow make the bot wait a certain amount of time before sending the message, this is the code I have for the instant dm if it helps with anything

client.on ('message', message =>{

if (message.author.bot) return;

mention = message.mentions.users.first(); 

if (message.content.startsWith (prefix + "send") ) {

if (mention == null) { return; } 

message.delete();

mentionMessage = message.content.slice (5);

mention.send('someone sent you a letter! **||** ' + mentionMessage + ' **||** make sure to send them a reply! (if you know who they are of course ^^)');

message.channel.send ('your letter will be delivered!')

} },)

I

1 Like
var sendmsg = function(){
mention.send('someone sent you a letter! **||** ' + mentionMessage + ' **||** make sure to send them a reply! (if you know who they are of course ^^)');
};
setTimeout(sendmsg,3000); //Send the message after 3 seconds.
1 Like

is there a specific place where I have to write it?
I’ve been trying to do it and I kinda understand how it works but I havent been able to really make it work

Add it to the Ready on Message event.

ok sorry Im a huge dumbass, I’ve been trying to find the ready on the message event but I can really seem to find it,Im really sorry but can you describe it more specifically please?

This:

client.on ('ready', () =>{

ooooooh alright so do I do something like this?

client.on (‘ready’, () =>{
var sendmsg = function(){
mention.send(‘someone sent you a letter! || ’ + mentionMessage + ’ || make sure to send them a reply! (if you know who they are of course ^^)’);
};
setTimeout(sendmsg,3000);
}

1 Like

Yes, something like that, not quite there yet

1 Like

what do you mean something like that?