How to make a button that goes to a link

Hello!
In html I made a custom button that asks for a file once that is clicked. I’m trying to figure out how to set it up so when a user chooses a file, it goes to another page.

Also how do I make it so it can tell if the file is a image or not?
I’m new to html btw

Hi Someone!

First, it would be helpful if you have a Glitch project to share it here so we can take a look. But I’ll give some general thoughts…

the simplest thing that can possibly do something

I guess you have an input type="file" (like this)

If you want to make this go to another page, you can wrap it in a form element, set the action to another page, and add a Submit button. For example:

a.htm

<label for="avatar">Choose a profile picture:</label>

<form action="b.htm" method="GET">
  <input type="file"
       id="avatar" name="avatar"
       accept="image/png, image/jpeg">
  <input type="submit">
</form>

b.htm

<p>Got it</p>
  • The way we set up the file input only allows image files. Maybe that helps you?
  • Page B will receive the filename in the query string but not the file content (i.e. you will arrive at /b.htm?avatar=my-image.png)

but I want to store/analyse/do something to the image

In this case you need to move onto something with a backend – on Glitch we usually use Express for this (start a project with ~hello-express)

In Express you can set up a route to accept the form data, point the form at it, and change the method to method="POST"

If that’s the way you want to go, let us know what you’re trying to achieve and we can be more specific!

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

Hi, Me and my friend are trying to make an art site where you can upload art and share it to some people. Here is the main page html so far. [( every time I tried to put it here it kept cutting )]
(Pastebin.com - Burn After Read paste)