Improvement suggestions

Hey! I’ve been using Glitch for two years or so already, and I’ve been quite pushing its limits as it helped me on my work projects as well as on my personal toys. Pretty good service overall, and I love it, especially for how much it encourages people to code, share and hack! However, I did hit some walls along the way, some of which I believe could be improved upon:

• Provide up-to-date containers: It is way too often that I’m concerned about security vulnerabilities and missing runtime features looking at my Glitch projects. For instance, projects still ship with Ubuntu 16.04.6 and NodeJS 12.0.0, software with known memory corruption and DoS exploits, as well as missing features as basic as fs.rm. Personally, I think using the latest stable Alpine as a base for projects would be a nice idea, particularly since it can translate into storage, memory and performance improvements too.
  • Support runtimes other than Node.js: while Glitch projects ship with a wide variety of languages, their support is non-existent, leading to server strain, disk usage waste, broken projects and an overall value loss for Glitch as a service. Making sure the required runtimes and project build systems are up-to-date and don’t count for storage usage would go a long way. The addition of a few ones, like SBCL, would also be neat. WebAssembly/WASI on Node.js might be a potential solution/option here.