Persistent simulation help 101

Hi All,

I am very new to coding/creating this idea; so, please bear with me here, but:

How do I create a persistent always online world that clients can log into and observe?

I’ve currently gotten to the level of being easily able to create multiplayer VR worlds with babylonjs; however, I don’t understand how to keep those worlds… always on?

Do I have to use a database? Can I just tell my server never shut down?

Is there a tutorial for always on worlds? Is it a lot simpler than I thought?

Thank you for your advice/ideas.

I’m having a bit of trouble understanding what you are looking for, but this might solve your issue:

Boosting an app keeps it online 24/7

Does keeping it online 247 mean that eg I could perform a continuous calculation on the server side and log in anytime with a client and look at the results, eg?

A Pro plan gives you access to always-on boosted apps. Like all projects they do a quick restart every twelve hours to free up server resources, but they don’t need to sleep when inactive. ←

So, what Im seeing here is they sleep after 12 hours, but I want it on FOREVER. Do I have to create some kind of custom solution?

You would need a “database” of some sort in every case. It can be a relational database but it doesn’t have to be but it must store data. Both if and when something goes wrong and the world needs to be recovered or when there is so much data in memory that your world can no longer support it.

so there is the “glitch + node + squlite” template, but how do I get around this shut down and restart every 12 hours problem? do I have to tell it to continuously record into the database and then if it shuts down upload from the database… that sounds complicated?

wouldn’t the easy thing to do just be to tell it like never ever ever turn off? then wouldn’t I not even need a database?

There is no such thing as “never ever turn off”.
If you store data in memory you have a “data base”