Question about GDPR

So… i need to use a cookie to store if the user is banned from the site or not… that’s pretty much it.
The cookie would only store the value “true” or “false”.

Do i have to include a cookie message if i only store this, only one, important cookie?

Hi there @LankyBox01!
I am not a lawyer, nor should this post be taken as legal advice. Whenever in doubt, consult a solicitor.
First and foremost, GDPR only applies to countries in the EU. (The UK also has “UK GDPR” since it left the EU).
I am from the UK, so I will actually be talking about UK GDPR, but from what I can understand, it’s the same.

Cookies and GDPR

According to the ICO, if a cookie is unlikely to be or contribute to “personal information”, GDPR regulations won’t apply. I would assess that a cookie with this true or false value to not constitute personal information.
But, to be honest, a cookie to keep a user blocked isn’t really good practice anyway. A cookie can easily be edited, deleted, and viewed by the user, whether through the console or the cookies window provided in most browsers. A better option would be to use sessions (such as express-session express-session - npm with a session store such as MongoDB).

Cookies and PECR

I wrote this message, until realising that I was talking about the UK-only regulations, PECR and not GDPR. The below message may be useful for websites operating in the UK, so I am keeping it below.
According to Regulation 6 of PECR, you need to:

• tell people the cookies are there;
  • explain what the cookies are doing and why; and
  • get the person’s consent to store a cookie on their device.

However, there are some exemptions, which apply when:

• the cookie is for the sole purpose of carrying out the transmission of a communication over an electronic communications network; or