Returning Dream text back to Server.JS

So when you create a new Hello-Express project you get the Dream HTML setup. When the HTML is displayed using the sendFile the user can enter a new Dream and it’s displayed on the screen. What need to change so that the new Dream entered I can get that text back into the Server.JS program as a Variable?

The reason I ask is I have a project I am working on. The HTML display will be used in a WebView on Messenger. The HTML will have a wheel that spins and then stops. The spot it stops at is the prize they win. I am able to extract the prize in the HTML but want to pass that prize text back to the server.js program so I can use it for other apps. I think once I know how to pass the Dream text back I can apply this to my project.

Sorry for the beginner question - I am new to Node and JS so not sure how to get data back from an HTML display back in the server.js program that served up the HTML. I know sendFIile will not. I have Googled for hours looking for the process. I do see that res.Render might be the answer but couldn’t get it to work - got to be a simply solutions I am not finding. Thanks for the help!

To send data back to the server, you need to use fetch or XMLHTTPRequest. Then, you’d have to add a route to your server.js file that stores the POSTed data somewhere.

In server.js:

app.post("/dreams", function (request, response) {
  // store request.query.dream someplace
  response.sendStatus(200);
});

On the client:
var dream = “some dream”;
.post('/dreams?' + .param({dream: dream}), function() {
// success!
});

Hey Tim thanks!

Being a newbie not sure on this - tried a few ways with no luck. The HTML side is where i am having issues to work.

So the initial request will come from FB Messenger to display the webview. I will call an endpoint (at present I have APP.GET - looks like I need to change that to APP.POST?). So then in the APP.POST you have above how am I putting up the Webview page? There is no sendFile?