Vite 'process is not defined' error

Hello! So I’m pretty new to Vite, but not React, so sorry if this an obvious one. I’ve tried a couple things, but I keep getting the above error in the console along with a blank screen once the app goes to sleep. I’m wondering if there’s a best practice for Glitch or if I’m missing something in the Vite docs (which are a little vague, imo)

My code - [ project removed - 7/24/21 ]

Here’s what’s worked temporarily:

1. changing my .env variables to import.meta.env instead of process.env etc. with VITE_ etc.
  2. adding vite-plugin-environment to my dev dependencies, which allowed me to use process.env without VITE_ (current solution)

I’ve also looked at Vite’s Github and a few people have altered the config file (specifically the mode) but they seem to be dated responses.

Thanks for taking a look :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @christina and welcome to the forum!

Thanks for the great problem description including your code and what you tried!

I don’t think this is going to be “an obvious one” so no worries :slight_smile:

Haven’t tried Vite for myself yet but I have seen things like this in other Glitch projects after they go to sleep…

I noticed (from my remix) that your logs say the dev server is running, but it’s a generated_static site. At first I thought this was weird but then I checked an 11ty site, and yep, turns out that’s how they work; run the start command (rather than build).

So that’s probably fine… just a mystery why it would kind of fail to start back up again after going to sleep. And a little hard to repro!

Let us know if you make any headway, and I’m sure other on here will want to chime in :slight_smile:

1 Like