Webpack Build - How do I control where the build-file goes?

Here’s the link to the example project (copied from another existing glitch project):

In the webpack.config.js file, if I try to change the output path to anything else other than what it was originally, the bundle.js file doesn’t show up anywhere (yet there is no error message in the console). Where is the file being saved? How do I control where the file goes?

If you’re wondering why I’m trying to change output path, it’s because I’m trying to learn how this thing works.

Thanks

Hi @LiChoi – I’m no webpack expert, but I have used it (and broken it) many times, so I thought I’d take a look. I noticed that even if I commented back in the original path and then modified the component (changing the text in the HelloWorld component) that the changes the aren’t reflected in the app (even on reloading.) This suggested to me that there might be some other bug getting in the way of your debugging – are you also seeing this behavior, or is it a problem on my end?

The original path:

path.resolve(__dirname, ‘src/output’)

worked for me (it was updating, and I could see the changes on the live app).

But now it’s not working. I think I ran ‘npm run build’ too many times, and now glitch is locking me out? (or maybe because we were running it at the same time?)

Oh that’s interesting. You ran it through the command line? I wouldn’t think that the sheer number of times would lock you out, since (as far I understand) the default behavior for the app is for it to build and refresh every time it senses changes to the code. There might be some other kind of snag though – I’ll try making a fresh project and testing the output. I’m glad you posted this question, I’ve been telling myself to learn how webpack works for months haha

On the original project, I made changes without running build on command line, and the changes weren’t made on the bundle.js file, so I think it needs to be run on command line with each change.