Just bumping this thread because this is still a real pain point for collaboration. I keep having to tell people something like
Don’t ever do “import from GitHub” in Glitch because that overwrites what’s in Glitch. The other direction – “export to GitHub” – is fine. It creates a pull request that can be merged in on GitHub.
And I know eventually we’re going to screw this up and lose work or make a mess.
I did learn how to merge in the other direction (thanks @Gareth!) from the Glitch console. It would be pretty amazing if that was the default, built-in way to get code from GitHub to Glitch.
In the meantime, maybe there could be more of a warning on the “Import from GitHub” option to help guard against losing work? Maybe it could even be smart enough to know when there are changes in Glitch that would be overwritten by that and not let you do it?
Extreme proposal: What if you had to go to the trouble of deleting all the files on Glitch to prove that you really wanted to start fresh from the GitHub version? Annoying in many cases but the alternative I argue is worse: lots of FUD around using both Glitch and GitHub to collaborate. Ie, just having to give the warning above makes it feel to new collaborators like “here be dragons”.
PS: To clarify, I’m complaining so hard because of how completely amazing it is to have Glitch as a medium of collaboration and I want to use it for everything but that’s currently a bit fraught when the primary repository of the source code is GitHub.