Glitch not recognizing null propagation operator?

I’m getting an error when trying to use the null propagation operator (e.g. photo: profile.photos[0]?.value || '', inside of an object definition getting SyntaxError: Unexpected token . Is this an issue specifically with glitch, or am I doing something wrong?

I think that might still need a babel plugin to make it work in JavaScript (but my knowledge might be outdated?) If you have babel set up already, Google suggests this might be the one! https://www.npmjs.com/package/babel-plugin-transform-optional-chaining

1 Like

Null propagation is a new language feature that isn’t supported yet in browsers or in our version of node- you’ll need to use a transpiler like Babel to be able to write that syntax for the foreseeable future.

@potch
Sorry for my ignorance, but I’m still new to node. So in my package.json file I put in the following dependencies:

"babel": "^6.23.0",
    "@babel/plugin-proposal-optional-chaining": "^7.6.0",
    "babel-core": "^6.26.3"

then in the js file I’m trying to implement it, I have

require("babel-core").transform("code", {
  plugins: ["transform-optional-chaining"]
});

this was the implementation suggested on the site you linked to @househaunt but it doesn’t seem to be working.

Hi TaraBryn! If you’re already using a transpiler like Babel, then you might be asking about how to get rid of the linting errors?

Glitch uses ESLint for linting JavaScript, and some of ESLint’s behavior on Glitch can be customized by putting a .eslintrc.json file at the root of your project.

A sufficiently drastic .eslintrc.json will turn ESLint off entirely, which might be what you would like to do. See for example: https://glitch.com/edit/#!/fourth-captain?path=README.md:1:31