Help creating a survey form

I’m making a website for a school project where people can share coming out stories. I am new to website building please forgive my stupid questions. I’m having trouble creating the form that users can fill out. I’m also confused about how to access the forms once they have been submitted. I am coding in HTML. Any help or pointers to where I can find more information would be helpful. Thank you in advance.

You should use GetForm if you want to do it the wrong way, with ajax, or use node.js which is the right way to go about stuff and you can be very flexible.

Also you can’t code in HTML. You can MarkUp with HTML, but yeah…

You could make a post request (using js) with the results of the form to Discord (or a similar service).

Hi Evan!

Don’t worry about it, there are no stupid questions.

I will be totally honest. The easiest way to achieve what you want is to use a pre-built service like Google Forms. That way you can just focus on building the form and the results can be emailed to you or you can view them in a Google dashboard. Easy.

The second easiest way, if you want to write a little bit of HTML but not write a whole end-to-end Glitch application, is to use Netlify Forms. This is a completely different way of hosting a site, nothing to do with Glitch. You’d simply write an HTML page with your form and textarea for their story, then decorate the form with the netlify attribute. This means any time someone submits it, it would go into your Netlify dashboard and optionally be emailed to you.

Just sign up for Netlify (you can log in with GitHub if you already have that). There is an option to upload a site by dropping a zip file (you don’t need to know how to use git). So I’d make a website in a folder, where the index page has a form like this:

<form netlify>
<!-- Any data you want to gather. Maybe you want it to be anonymous? -->
<label>Your name:<input name="name"></label>

<!-- Gather their story in a textarea -->