403 forbidden error when working with Glitch

Hello,

I am a computer science teacher and I favored Glitch for my html lectures. My lab has 14 computers running Ubuntu ΜΑΤΕ 20.04 LTSP (1 server, 14 thin clients). The students are working on a static site based on the Blank Website template.

So far, Glitch serves the purpose very well but there is one problem I would like to report. When all 14 clients are logged in to Glitch, some or all of them are getting the 403 Forbidden error, which shows up in the preview pane (either next to the code or in a new window). Refreshing the preview does not fix the error. The error may or may not go away after some time; it is random behavior, really.

Is this a known issue? Do you think it is related to the fact that multiple computers are working with Glitch at the same time from the same LAN?

Most importantly, is there anything I can do to fix this?

Thank you very much in advance,

Dimitris

1 Like

I think the support folks at Glitch will be able to give a more concrete answer, but as a user, I know that sometimes you have to manually type ‘refresh’ in the terminal to get the editor in sync. Did you reload the window or type refresh?

1 Like

Hello christina,

Thank you for your reply. I haven’t tried the refresh command because I was not aware of the terminal tool. I will give it a try and let you know. By the way, your answer also helped me discover the Logs tool, which, I think, will help me find out more about the source of the error.

Meanwhile, anyone with an idea why the 403 error appears in the preview pane, please come forward.

1 Like

Hi there - when you say “some or all” do you mean that some of the students are seeing the preview just fine? My first thought was that maybe your LAN blocks the glitch.me domain, but if some of your students can see that domain fine, then it could be rate limiting. Can you email support@glitch.com with this info and we’ll investigate further!

1 Like

Hello jenn,