Discord bot/ Mute

(btw i’m not experienced at all in this) Hey, i was just trying to make a discord bot for a server! If anyone could send a Code that mutes a user for a certain time? Btw i use Atom js if that’s important.
The only thing i have are the basics:

const Discord = require(‘discord.js’);
const client = new Discord.Client();

client.on(‘ready’, () => {
console.log(Logged in as ${client.user.tag}!);
});

client.on(‘message’, msg => {
if (msg.content === ‘$help’) {
msg.reply(‘jus chii out foo’);
}
});

client.login(‘spooky token’);

In the future i’d like to have a ban, mute/tempmute.
Thanks for anyone trying to help me!

Hey there, currently on mobile so i cannot type much code.
I guess you can experiment on setTimeout() or check the database every second. The best way i can say is using setTimeout.

How to use setTimeout

Hey,
Make a role with send messages permissison false
And try using member.roles.add('role_id').
For tempmute you also can use setTimeout().
Thanks

Hello again, thanks for the help guys but i legit have no clue where to put it, could you please make a copy and paste of it? I don’t know how to add different things to what the bot can do, like i said all i have is:
const Discord = require(‘discord.js’);

const client = new Discord.Client();

client.on(‘ready’, () => {
console.log(Logged in as ${client.user.tag}!);
});

client.on(‘message’, msg => {
if (msg.content === ‘$help’) {
msg.reply(‘jus chii out foo’);
}
});

client.login(’[token]’);

Like i don’t know if i can just put the new “mute” code under it? or if i have to put it in somewhere?Once again, thanks for trying to help me.
(also i use a mac if that helps)

Hey,

You seem to be a bit new to JavaScript. I 100% recommend that you take a look at the w3schools JavaScript and NodeJS couse, it will make creating a discord bot much easier.

https://www.w3schools.com/js/
https://www.w3schools.com/nodejs/