SCSS with Gomix?

Hi guys,

I was wondering if anyone would be so good as to help me through the process of using SCSS with Gomix? I am really new to all this and frankly I have no idea what I am doing. On JSFiddle I was able to just select a preprocessor from a dropdown.

Also, on JSFiddle adding libraries and frameworks just involved copying a URL from cdnjs.com and adding it to the ‘External Resources’. How do I go about achieving the same thing on Gomix? Does it have something to do with the packages.json file?

Thanks an apologies for the long, needy post :stuck_out_tongue:

Cheers

1 Like

Hey rorm, because gomix is lower level than jsfiddle, you can get scss working with by adding the express-sass-middleware package to package.json and following the instructions in https://www.npmjs.com/package/express-sass-middleware

Alternatively you can use https://gomix.com/#!/project/node-sass as a reference or starting point for a project using sass

1 Like

Thank you so much my man, I will have a look at this tomorrow. Appreciate you!

No prob , let us know if you need more help later

1 Like

Thanks :slight_smile: I am a bit overwhelmed trying to understand it all at the moment. I need to get an overview of how the Javascript stack works (like: Where does client-side stop and server-side begin? How do they interface? What exactly is middleware? etc.,)

All the introductions to the topic that I have seen expect some level of familiarity with the fundamental concepts. At this stage I can’t even get a good enough grasp of it to be able to ask the right questions. It’s fun to be learning something new, though!

1 Like

Hi rorm,

everyone has the same feeling when approaching the world of JavaScript… I had the same experience! Hopefully, Gomix will give you a playground to experiment and iterate fast, to learn more quickly :slight_smile: