Why does glitch create new projects


#1

I have a LOT of projects that I had to delete because glitch kept copying the one I was working on and making another project with it. I haven’t told it to do this and I am unsure exactly what I do to trigger it …


#2

Hi @vampymaria, I’m sorry to hear you’ve been having difficulties.

We used to see this behavior a lot more when folks edited their projects from an embed of the project like what you might see on https://glitch.com/~PROJECTNAME (https://glitch.com/~relieved-handball for instance). I see that you’ve had to delete a number of projects today - have you been editing your project in that screen by any chance?

I ask because we recently changed the behavior of that page to make it less likely that people would be accidentally creating remixes, so if you’re still encountering that problem we’d definitely want to know about it so we can make sure it’s working correctly.


#3

Sorry for the late reply, I have my glitch project saved as a bookmark, so I always edit the main project itself or its dev version. I was not alerted to the new projects until my friend went to see if the main and dev were private and mentioned how many projects I have. I don’t know exactly what I do that causes it … (https://glitch.com/edit/#!/NAMEHERE?path=PATHHERE) this is the link I see when I edit my project …


#4

Thanks for the reply. For the main and dev projects that were being replicated, they are both private, correct? And have always been private?


#5

Yes

(post must be 20 characters …)


#6

Why did you ask that? :thinking: