New to Glitch : multiple questions

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Glitch and I have some questions that needs answers before I can be sure that Glitch is the platform that I need for my projects.

I have two projects :

1. Twitch bot

Simple twitch bot that reads incoming chat events and messages. The bot needs to listen to the chat everytime, so i think i need to upgrade my account with a payment method ? Is there another way, because it’s only listening event so if the code is running it’s okay for me.

1. Web API

My second need is to develop a web API, the goal is very simple, have an URL that returns calculated data.
I have to store “sensitive” data in the project environnement variables, so the project can’t be public.
Is there a way to create a web API in glitch where there’s only the publics URL that are available and not all the code ?

Thanks for your answers :slight_smile:

Environment Variables cannot be see by others/non-project-contributers that you have chosen, so your project can be public

By making a project private, others can’t see the code, but they can go to the Url. There is no way to hide parts of code/particular files to people other than project contributers.

Glitch stores Environment Variables in the .env file, you can learn more about that here:
https://glitch.happyfox.com/kb/article/18-how-do-i-store-secrets-credentials-or-private-data/

Actually, you can make a .data folder, that way the editor can’t view the code inside there, however the code is still available if you access it via the terminal.

1 Like

Oh, just making sure OP knew! :smiley:

1 Like

Oh, I didn’t think it was offensive! Good to point out.

1 Like

why was this post flagged?
I dont think it was wrong in any way?
@EddiesTech you should probbaly ask glitch why it was flagged

Are you talking to me? Yes I know they are stored in env and so does OP :joy:

Hello guys,

Thank you all for your quicks answers !