We’re changing project privacy settings at Glitch. Here’s what you need to know:
In the past, you’ve set one or more of your projects to private on Glitch. In the coming weeks, we’ll be introducing a new setting that lets users add another layer of privacy to their projects. Not only will you be able to set who can view and edit your project’s code, you’ll also be able to determine who can see your live site or app.
We’re implementing these new privacy settings as part of our paid tier, but any apps you currently have set to private will continue to keep the code hidden and be only accessible to members you invite. We’re committed to ensuring that the free Glitch experience stays great for users like you.
Please make note of the following:
- Projects that you currently have set to “Private” will continue to hide the project code from anyone who is not a project member.
- If you change your project from private to public, you’ll lose the ability to change it back unless you upgrade your account.
If you have questions about the coming changes, just reply to this email.
I got this email today. Let’s discuss it openly here rather than over email.
I appreciate that Glitch won’t be flipping previously private project to be public.
As a separate question, will free users continue to be able to make private-code projects?
cross reference to previous discussion Project privacy + app sharing
Also, an explanation of the thread title–Glitch is not removing the private-code feature going forward, per se. They are moving it to a paid feature. The “goodbye” sentiment is on behalf of stubborn free users like myself.